My UDAB Experience #TBT

During my sophomore year of college, I decided that instead of taking an average spring break trip, I wanted to do something different. I just transferred to the University of Delaware and didn’t know that many people yet, so I heard about a program called, UDAB. This program sends students to underprivileged neighborhoods within the U.S. to help with different causes. A few months later after three rounds of interviews, I was told I was going to to Leesburg, Florida to help rebuild their neighborhood. At first, I was upset that I didn’t get chosen to go on the New Orleans trip because I have never heard of Leesburg, Florida. I was a little more upset when I finally arrived to Florida and saw all of my friends on social media bathing in the sun in either Miami or  Mexico. I was regretting ever making the decision to go there and be on a trip with 50 other people I didn’t know.

UDAB painting.png

It only took 24 hours for me to change my whole mindset on the situation. It took a day of axing a few trees, painting houses, power washing, raking for 8 hours, and spending time with underprivileged students in their school for me to realize what an incredible decision I actually made.

UDAB sunset.png

I spent one week in Leesburg, Florida with 50 strangers that became my great friends. We helped to rebuild the community together and built relationships with so many people that grew up there. I did a community service trip before in Costa Rica, but never in my own country. This made me realize how there are so many places within our own country that need our help and I am so happy that I was able to lend a hand. 

UDAB little kids.png

Leave a Reply

